6 comments on “Savonarola would be rolling over in his grave… if he had one.

  1. I often find myself thinking similar thoughts. I’m no prude either, not by ANYONE’s standards. However, I think there is a time and place for things. A lot of it has to do with consent – if others are offended by what I’m doing and I can do it in private at another time, why not? I’m even self-conscious about PDA to a certain extent. Lascivious in private, prudish in public? Why not.

    • I agree with you. There is certainly a time and a place. It seems the more acceptable these behaviors become, the less classy our society. I am all about lascivious but behind closed doors!

  2. I am the FARTHEST from being a prude, ( you know this to be true if you have worked with me and heard my cussing ) Anywho…I agree there to be a time and place for such language and in songs may not be one of them… I LOVE WHAT YOU ARE DOING HERE FAR !!! Keep the words coming I really enjoy your writing !!

  3. “I consider being able to curse correctly and creatively the highest level of linguistic competency”. Exactly. I am not a prude either – but it is annoying when people write stupid lyrics just for shock value or because they really are stupid. Furthermore, being offended because something is distinctly misogynistic does not make anyone a prude.

    Furthermore, as a songwriter, the idea of not having anything to write about other than an string of international booty calls culminating in being buried in a sea of big ol’ boobies in Brazil is rather strange. Because everyone has sex…..so the idea is not that risque.

    I don’t consider myself to be a prude – just anti-stupid people.

    • This is why you and I get along so well. I also am anti-stupid people. And I am glad that you picked up on the misogynistic theme as well. When I heard that line, I immediately thought of the “furniture” in Soylent Green…

Leave a Reply

